1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Platform-specific Articles
  4. Shopify Articles
  5. Archiving Orders in Shopify
  1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. FAQ
  4. Archiving Orders in Shopify

Archiving Orders in Shopify

What Does ‘Archiving’ Mean?

An archived order is an order that has been completed/fulfilled, and then “closed” by you (the owner of a store or an admin with access). In your Shopify dashboard you’ll notice the little number notification bubble next to the Orders tab. This counts all “open” orders, or orders that have not been archived. If an order is fulfilled (notice the bottom order on the list) then it is archived automatically as per your Shopify store settings. This means it doesn’t show as part of the number in the notification bubble.

*Note-Archiving an order is NOT the same as cancelling an order

Using Archive & Fera

Archiving is a great way to be able to track whether or not your orders are fulfilled or unfilled and paid or pending payment. However, it can also cause issues when trying to sync to certain apps. Apps that use data or information from Shopify may need access to your orders. If your orders are archived then Shopify cuts off the connections and no apps can access them. What this means for Fera is that your Social Proof Events cannot be synced. Customers won’t get the messages that let them know that others have currently bought your products.

Automatically Archive (or Unarchive) Orders

If you want to be able to automatically archive  you can toggle the automatic archiving on and off. To do this you need to go to your Settings → Checkout → Scroll to Order Processing Section and select or deselect the “automatically archive the order” option.

Manually Archive (or Unarchive) Orders

To manually archive orders you need to head over to the Orders tab in your Shopify dashboard. Open up orders and you’ll see a list of all your orders (like in the first screenshot). You can archive and unarchive orders in bulk by clicking the top square (select all button), or only select certain orders to archive/unarchive.

 

So How Do I Work Around Archiving?

You don’t need to archive orders at all. You can still operate your store and bring in and fulfill orders like normal. If you’re still worried about remembering what orders are finished or closed-there are other ways to tell. Once an order is paid and fulfilled, when you check you orders list you can see that those have been completed. The Shopify timeline also gives you an idea about what’s been going on with a certain order.

If you want to get extra fancy you have the ability to add tags to orders. You could tag orders #finished, #complete, #done or #closed to note to yourself that the order is finished. The benefit to this is that Shopify allows you to search and filter your orders easily. You can filter by the hashtag to see what orders have been completed, or search by fulfilled/unfilled if that’s easier for you.

While archiving is a handy skill, it will cause some issues with data that Apps use. This means you may not gain full functionality from certain apps/skills. It also won’t show you the notification bubble next to orders in your Dashboard that lets you know how many orders you’ve had. Don’t feel like you need to archive or that you need to unarchive everything. Everyone has a different process of how they like to run things, so do whatever is most comfortable and easiest for you.

 

For more information about Shopify & the ordering process, please follow this link https://help.shopify.com/manual/orders

 

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles